top of page

Mission Communities

Mission Communities are an ecumenical partnership, between Church of England, Methodists and United Reformed Church, in relation to mission in the local area. 

"As part of our aim of Growing Together - Working Ecumenically and in the light of decisions made at each of our Synods we have begun the process of exploring the local implications of the Church of England's draft Diocesan Ministry Strategy, including the shape of possible Mission Communities."

"It is envisaged that a Mission Community will contain several local church communities (Anglican, Methodist and URC where possible) who will develop a relationship with each other and will be served by a variety of ministry. There might be between 40 - 60 of these Mission Communities across Cumbria. We suggest that each Mission Community includes at least three different congregations. For example, these may include congregations of different denominations and a fresh expression of church. Their Task We suggest that in exploring the shape of the Mission Community, the core task is agreed by all partners."

"Each mission community should be able to support the weaker congregations within it by sharing resources with the strongest ‘hub’ congregations and any strong local congregations. Our analysis identified the following in our deanery:

  • 2 major hubs at Appleby and Kirkby Stephen;

  • smaller hubs at Morland, Orton & Shap;

  • a good number of strong local churches and a small number in need of support.

The model envisages that each Mission Community will have at least one ‘hub’ and a sustainable distribution of other local congregations."

Circuit Website


bottom of page